Laity and Clergy Nominees for 2020 General and Jurisdictional Conferences

June 06, 2019

By Mark Wharff  
Conference secretary
Eleven laypersons and three clergy members have been nominated to represent the California-Nevada Annual Conference as delegates to the 2020 General and Jurisdictional Conferences. 
The online nomination process for lay delegates was open from March 14 through May 10. During that period, six women and five men, ranging in age from 20 to 72, were nominated. 
Nominating ballots were sent to eligible clergy members May 1, and the nominating period for clergy delegates closed June 4. Valid ballots were returned by 77 clergy, who named 47 of their colleagues. Rev. Dr. Bener Baysa Agtarap, Rev. Dr. Kah-Jin Jeffrey Kuan, and Rev. Hyok In Kwon (L-R, at left) received the requisite number of votes (20 or more) to qualify for the ballot under conference rules. 
Our Standing Rules also provide for additional lay and clergy nominations at the opening session of the annual conference, “if supported by at least twenty votes.” That 20-vote threshold has been superseded by an amendment to ¶34 of The Book of Discipline (2016). That paragraph, concerning the election of delegates to the General Conference and jurisdictional or central conference, was amended by the addition of this line: “Such elections shall include open nominations from the floor by the annual conference, and delegates shall be elected by a minimum of a simple majority of the ballots cast.” 
The Commission on the Annual Conference Session designed a process in 2018 to receive “open nominations from the floor.” At the designated time during the morning plenary session on Wednesday, June 19, members wishing to place an additional name on the ballot will seek to be recognized by the bishop, go to a microphone as directed, and offer the nomination. To comply with our rules, nominating forms will be available to gather contact information and secure the nominee’s willingness to serve as a delegate if elected to the General and/or Jurisdictional Conferences. All nomination forms must be submitted to the conference secretary’s office no later than 30 minutes following the close of the plenary session in which the nominations were made. 
I will be happy to respond to questions. Please address them to me at