About the Commission: The 32-member Commission on a Way Forward was appointed by the Council of Bishops to assist the bishops in their charge from the 2016 General Conference to lead the church forward amid the present impasse related to LGBTQ inclusion and resulting questions about the unity of the church.

Members of the Commission include: Jasmine Rose Smothers, Jorge Acevedo, Brian Adkins, Jacques Umembudi Akasa, Tom Berlin, Matt Berryman, Helen Cunanan, David Field, Ciriaco Francisco, Grant Hagiya, Aka Dago-Akribi Hortense, Scott Johnson, Jessica LaGrone, Thomas Lambrecht, MyungRae Kim Lee, Julie Hager Love, Mazvita Machinga, Patricia Miller, Mande Guy Muyombo, Eben Nhiwatiwa, Dave Nuckols, Casey Langley Orr, Gregory Palmer, Donna Pritchard, Tom Salsgiver, Robert Schnase, Leah Taylor, Debra Wallace-Padgett, Rosemarie Wenner, Alice Williams, John Wesley Yohanna, Alfiado S. Zunguza

Learn more about the Commission

A Way Forward report released in 5 Languages, read press release.


California-Nevada Conference
1350 Halyard Drive
West Sacramento, CA 95691
(916) 374-1500