Four Bishop's Awards Are Presented – One by Phone!

June 24, 2010

Four Bishop's Awards were presented during the 162nd California-Nevada Annual Conference Session – and when a family emergency prevented one recipient from being present, Bishop Warner H. Brown, Jr. waived the element of surprise in favor of participation and pre-arranged a conference call to "deliver the news."

It was the second Bishop's Award, to Billie Hall of Smith River United Methodist Church, which was presented in absentia on Friday morning. Bishop Brown spoke with Ms. Hall through a telephone conference call which was broadcast to the assembly, and her pastor, the Rev. Steve Pudinski, accepted the award on her behalf.
The first Bishop's Award of the 2010 session was presented on Thursday to David Haynes, Lay Leader of the Shasta District (who distinguished himself, later in the conference, by making repeated free throws at the Slam Dunk Malaria event!).
The third and fourth Bishop's Awards for 2010 were presented to Mollie Epperson of Visalia UMC and Haati Nai of Salinas UMC, respectively.