Central Extension Society Grants

The purpose of The Society is to make disciples of Jesus Christ for the transformation of the world. The Society will do this by serving as a coordinating body for the member churches of The Society, and by offering proactive assistance in order to establish and support new church development,
local church renewal, and Circuit and cooperative ministries.

The Society's 2016 Grant and Loan Programs

Grants and Loans are available in the following categories:
  • New Church Development: new places for new people
  • Local Church Renewal: helping existing congregations develop outreach
  • Circuit and Cooperative Ministries: collaborative efforts involving two or more churches

Loans are normally approved for one-time expenditures for construction, repair or equipment. Loan amounts are subject to available funds. Terms are negotiable.


Grants are normally program oriented (e.g., resources, materials or staffing for new or expanded programs) and may be renewed annually for up to three consecutive years (not to exceed a total of four consecutive years) subject to compliance with annual evaluations and completion of a renewal request application. Churches may apply for Grants of up to $5,000 per church per year, plus an additional $250 for each 10% of Conference Apportionments paid in the prior year, up to $7,500 per church per year if Conference Apportionments were paid in-full. In addition, churches whose prior year Conference Apportionments were paid in-full may request an additional $250 for each 10% of Second Mile Giving paid in the prior year, up to a total of $10,000 per church, per year if Conference Apportionments and Second Mile Giving were paid in-full.

The Society reserves the prerogative to engage applicants in dialogue offering a loan as an alternative to a grant and vice versa.

Completed funding applications should be sent to the CES Financial Secretary, Thomas Widlund at t.widlund@yahoo.com or by mail to PO Box 983 Sutter Creek, Ca. 95685

Funding applications must be received at least two (2) weeks prior to the meeting at which they are to be considered.


For additional information, please contact a member of the Executive Committee:

Beth Paich (President)


(209) 772-3456

Joanne Hull


(209) 634-9528

Kalolaine Lavalu


(510) 978-9774

Veronica Esquivel (Treasurer)


(209) 898-3528

Thomas Widlund (Financial Secretary)


(559) 790-9562

Gordon Barbosa


(209) 324-5327

Harvey Mayeda


(209) 500-2855

Eun-Joo Myung


(510) 610-4150

Debra Brady (District Sup't)